New Open Burning Law in Maine Requires Permits for Larger Campfires - Effective October 25, 2023

Illustrated woman sitting next to a campfire with text "New Open burning Maine State Law Requires Permits for Larger Campfires"

To enhance fire safety and prevent wildfires, a new state law has been implemented that mandates burn permits for larger campfires.  

The new law (LD24) took effect in Maine on Wednesday, October 25, 2023 which requires a permit for any campfire that is larger than 3 feet in height and 3 feet in diameter, that is not for debris disposal.  Permits for burning brush and wood debris are unaffected and are still required under the existing regulations.  The new law also makes it unlawful for burning outdoors during red flag warning days.

Maine residents and visitors planning fires larger than the specified dimensions, often referred to as "bonfires," will be required to obtain burn permits. These permits are available free of charge and can be secured online after 9 a.m. at

This new regulation aims to mitigate the risk of larger campfires getting out of control and causing wildfires. By requiring permits for this type of fire, the state hopes to ensure fire safety measures are in place, reducing the potential for fire-related emergencies.

For more information about the new law, please see the informational flyer below.

If you have questions, please contact the Fire Chief at

New Open Burning Laws in Maine Informational Flyer